Welcome to Keen Software House Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the KSH community.
  1. Hello Guest!
    Welcome to the Bug Report forum, please make sure you search for your problem before posting here. If you post a duplicate (that you post the same issue while other people have already done that before) you will be given a warning point which can eventually lead into account limitations !

    Here you can find a guide on how to post a good bug report thread.
    Space Engineers version --- Medieval Engineers version
  2. You are currently browsing our forum as a guest. Create your own forum account to access all forum functionality.

[1.182-Current] Direct X11 Integrated GPU Error

Discussion in 'Bug Reports' started by Rexisaurus, Jul 21, 2017.

Thread Status:
This last post in this thread was made more than 31 days old.
  1. Rexisaurus Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    10
    I keep running into a new error showing up since the latest update. "This game requires a card that supports DirectX11" I was able to play fine on the previous update with DX11.

    Hardware:

    OS: Win10 (Currently updating to latest version(s) to see if it resolves)
    CPU: Intel Core i7-4765T Processor (8M Cache, 3.00 GHz)
    GPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX GPU (Alienware Alpha)

    AKA: Alienware Alpha i7 Version (Pre new GPU Card change)
    Game runs great on medium settings pre 1.182 w/Dx11 enabled.

    I found this log in my appdata folder for SE/Vrage:

    2017-07-20 20:00:00.561 - Thread: 1 -> Log Started
    2017-07-20 20:00:00.561 - Thread: 1 -> Timezone (local - UTC): -5h
    2017-07-20 20:00:00.561 - Thread: 1 -> App Version: Version unknown
    2017-07-20 20:00:00.561 - Thread: 1 -> VRage renderer started
    2017-07-20 20:00:00.596 - Thread: 1 -> All detected adapters:
    2017-07-20 20:00:00.616 - Thread: 1 -> NVIDIA GeForce GPU - VendorID=4318, SubsystemID=107614248, DeviceID=5010
    2017-07-20 20:00:00.616 - Thread: 1 -> Microsoft Basic Render Driver - VendorID=5140, SubsystemID=0, DeviceID=140
    2017-07-20 20:00:01.513 - Thread: 1 -> Error: Exception in 'CreateAdaptersList()' for device 'NVIDIA GeForce GPU - VendorID=4318, SubsystemID=107614248, DeviceID=5010': Input string was not in a correct format.
    2017-07-20 20:00:01.520 - Thread: 1 -> at System.Number.StringToNumber(String str, NumberStyles options, NumberBuffer& number, NumberFormatInfo info, Boolean parseDecimal)
    at System.Number.ParseInt32(String s, NumberStyles style, NumberFormatInfo info)
    at VRageRender.MyRender11.CreateAdaptersList()
    2017-07-20 20:00:02.216 - Thread: 1 -> No valid Output found!
    --- Automerge ---
    The hotfix hasn't corrected this issue. Attempting to fix with windows update.
    --- Automerge ---
    Replies in steam with similar/same issue:
    • parker3392 4 hours ago it broke my game now it want launch
    • Ralph Waldo PickleChips 15 hours ago Now my game won't launch because it says I need a "DX11 Card" even though it ran fine before. :(
    • Timicro 20 hours ago i updated and now it says i dont have dx11...really...
    • DrSniperWolfXx 23 hours ago I have dx 12 and it wont let me load saying I need dx 11. Do I need to downgrade or is this a bug?
    • suedanny2 11 hours ago
      my game wont even sart now. it keps saying i need a dx 11 card, it had never done that before
    --- Automerge ---
    After updating windows I am still having this issue. I have a feeling it relates to this change:

    • Detection of GPU performance on first startup of the game
    --- Automerge ---
    Operating System: Windows 10 Home, 64-bit
    DirectX version: 12.0
    GPU processor: GeForce GPU
    Driver version: 381.78
    Direct3D API version: 12
    Direct3D feature level: 11_0
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2017
  2. KissSh0t Master Engineer

    Messages:
    3,548
  3. R-TEAM Junior Engineer

    Messages:
    530
    -> Direct3D feature level: 11_0
    I am not sure, if it show "only" 11_0 and have 11.x , or have the GPU realy only 11.0 ... SE need at last DX11.2
     
  4. Rexisaurus Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    10
    Its an Nvidia GeForce GPU configured for Alienware Alpha.

    [​IMG]

    [Lookup] came up with this GPU https://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/2536/geforce-gtx-860m
    --- Automerge ---
    Also, as I mentioned before. The game worked perfectly with the last version.
    --- Automerge ---
    Not sure what the 11_0 is but my card supports 12, could need to update my version.
    --- Automerge ---
    After the latest hotfixes (7/22) SE it doesn't even show my gpu in the log:
    2017-07-22 12:46:14.221 - Thread: 1 -> Log Started
    2017-07-22 12:46:14.222 - Thread: 1 -> Timezone (local - UTC): -5h
    2017-07-22 12:46:14.222 - Thread: 1 -> App Version: Version unknown
    2017-07-22 12:46:14.222 - Thread: 1 -> VRage renderer started
    2017-07-22 12:46:14.241 - Thread: 1 -> All detected adapters:
    2017-07-22 12:46:14.255 - Thread: 1 -> Microsoft Basic Render Driver - VendorID=5140, SubsystemID=0, DeviceID=140
    2017-07-22 12:46:14.474 - Thread: 1 -> No valid Output found!
    --- Automerge ---
    Info from SpaceEngineers Log (instead of Vrage log)

    2017-07-22 22:04:18.424 - Thread: 1 -> Log Started
    2017-07-22 22:04:18.426 - Thread: 1 -> Timezone (local - UTC): -5h
    2017-07-22 22:04:18.426 - Thread: 1 -> App Version: 01_182_018
    2017-07-22 22:04:18.426 - Thread: 1 -> Steam build: Always true
    2017-07-22 22:04:18.426 - Thread: 1 -> Is official: True [NO][IS][NAMP]
    2017-07-22 22:04:18.426 - Thread: 1 -> Environment.ProcessorCount: 8
    2017-07-22 22:04:18.477 - Thread: 1 -> Environment.OSVersion: Microsoft Windows 10 Home (Microsoft Windows NT 10.0.15063.0)
    2017-07-22 22:04:18.477 - Thread: 1 -> Environment.CommandLine: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\SpaceEngineers\Bin64\SpaceEngineers.exe"
    2017-07-22 22:04:18.477 - Thread: 1 -> Environment.Is64BitProcess: True
    2017-07-22 22:04:18.477 - Thread: 1 -> Environment.Is64BitOperatingSystem: True
    2017-07-22 22:04:18.478 - Thread: 1 -> Environment.Version: 4.6.2 or later (460798)
    2017-07-22 22:04:18.478 - Thread: 1 -> Environment.CurrentDirectory: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\SpaceEngineers\Bin64
    2017-07-22 22:04:19.536 - Thread: 1 -> CPU Info: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4785T CPU @ 2.20GHz
    2017-07-22 22:04:19.536 - Thread: 1 -> IntPtr.Size: 8
    2017-07-22 22:04:19.536 - Thread: 1 -> Default Culture: en-US
    2017-07-22 22:04:19.536 - Thread: 1 -> Default UI Culture: en-US
    2017-07-22 22:04:19.536 - Thread: 1 -> IsAdmin: False
    2017-07-22 22:04:19.634 - Thread: 1 -> MyConfig.Load() - START
    2017-07-22 22:04:19.637 - Thread: 1 -> Path: C:\Users\himom\AppData\Roaming\SpaceEngineers\SpaceEngineers.cfg
    2017-07-22 22:04:19.971 - Thread: 1 -> GraphicsRenderer: DirectX 11
    2017-07-22 22:04:19.971 - Thread: 1 -> TutorialsFinished: System.Collections.Generic.List`1[System.String]
    2017-07-22 22:04:19.971 - Thread: 1 -> MusicVolume: 1
    2017-07-22 22:04:19.971 - Thread: 1 -> GameVolume: 1
    2017-07-22 22:04:19.971 - Thread: 1 -> DebugInputs: VRage.Serialization.SerializableDictionary`2[System.String,Sandbox.Engine.Utils.MyConfig+MyDebugInputData]
    2017-07-22 22:04:19.971 - Thread: 1 -> Language: 0
    2017-07-22 22:04:19.971 - Thread: 1 -> ControlsGeneral: VRage.Serialization.SerializableDictionary`2[System.String,System.Object]
    2017-07-22 22:04:19.971 - Thread: 1 -> ControlsButtons: VRage.Serialization.SerializableDictionary`2[System.String,System.Object]
    2017-07-22 22:04:19.971 - Thread: 1 -> FirstTimeRun: False
    2017-07-22 22:04:19.971 - Thread: 1 -> NeedShowTutorialQuestion: False
    2017-07-22 22:04:19.971 - Thread: 1 -> VideoAdapter: 0
    2017-07-22 22:04:19.971 - Thread: 1 -> ScreenWidth: 640
    2017-07-22 22:04:19.971 - Thread: 1 -> ScreenHeight: 480
    //USELESS INFO ABOUT LOW RES SETTINGS GOES HERE//
    2017-07-22 22:04:19.973 - Thread: 1 -> MyConfig.Load() - END
    2017-07-22 22:04:19.974 - Thread: 1 -> Checksum file is missing, game will run as usual but file integrity won't be verified
    2017-07-22 22:04:24.088 - Thread: 1 -> DirectX 11 renderer not supported. No renderer to revert back to.
    2017-07-22 22:04:25.527 - Thread: 1 -> Steam closed
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2017
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. Einharjar Junior Engineer

    Messages:
    519
    I wanted to report that I too am now having this issue. It's SE only. I can run any other game on my steam list. I've reloaded the drivers and made sure everything is up to date. I'm running on a restored Alien Ware Alpha as well. My GPU is an on board 2 gig 860M GeForce chipset. More than DX11 compatible, was literally playing last week. This is annoying.
    --- Automerge ---
    So with a bit more fiddling around, it does seem that SE simply misidentifies the GPU, since the string "GeForce GPU" would not fall under any typical list.
    There IS a difference between the 860m GTX and the 860m in the Alienware Alpha, btw. I'm finding this out rather annoyingly so. @Rexisaurus
    For example:

    NVIDIA_DEV.1392.066A.1028 = "NVIDIA GeForce GPU"
    NVIDIA_DEV.1392.0683.1028 = "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M"

    If you scan the Nvidia driver INF, you'll find the device list that the latest drivers support. You'll see those two above, back to back. Notice that the Dev labels are different. The 860M in the Alpha is based on the 860, but it's a custom fitted chip. It may be a low TDP model, since the base Alpha ships with only a 130Watt PSU brick. A standard 860M can run at 75 watts, and the base R1 model of the Alpha with the standard i3 4130T has a TDP of 35 Watts. When you include the Hard Disk, 10 or Watts for RAM and especially the USB costs (if you're using your USBs), you'd don't have a lot of wattage left for the standard Alpha with a 75 Watt 860m. So I'm wondering if the Alpha's version is a low TDP model, hence the different Dev label. This leads to the driver for that GPU having a slightly different "Descriptor" string. I'm trying to find the Descriptor string in the INF but cannot find one. May be a BIOS label, of which then I'm S.O.L.
    If I can change the device descriptor, it will show up with a device name (after I manually edit it) as Nvidia GeForce GTX 860M to SE, and thus probably bypassing the error.
    As an FYI, you can "rename" a device in device manager using a "FriendlyName" string for the device's driver in regedit, but it's not the same. That's just the display name. Changing the actual device name has to be done in the driver's INF or the device's BIOS id... ugh...
     
  6. Rexisaurus Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    10
    While that might work, it shouldn't be required in order to play. This isn't an issue with any other game I own. This should just need added to whatever display adapter list they are using or just remove the warning all together.
    --- Automerge ---
    Tried this- same error.

    Its no longer even showing the GPU in the log file since the latest hotfixes so I don't think this would resolve it.
     
  7. Einharjar Junior Engineer

    Messages:
    519
    Wait so you actually managed to change the Driver Descriptor? Where is the string and which driver file is it?

    I searched all night and could not find the DESCRIPTION = XXXXXXXX string in the file using txt. format.
    There is a driver GPU list, like the one I CNPed above. I could change that list but for whatever reason, no permissions... how annoying.

    Can you show me where the descriptor is?

    Just real quick to confirm, could you post a Screen Shot of GPU-Z with the name change?


    -------
    Editing agian.
    The old fix was to manually going into your SE CFG File, using notepad, and manually putting into the GraphicsRenderer = Dirext X 11.
    That is no longer the case. I reviewed the same logs that the OP posted above, and noticed a few things:


    2017-07-23 20:52:52.153 - Thread: 1 -> VRage renderer started
    2017-07-23 20:52:52.168 - Thread: 1 -> All detected adapters:
    2017-07-23 20:52:52.180 - Thread: 1 -> NVIDIA GeForce GPU - VendorID=4318, SubsystemID=107614248, DeviceID=5010
    2017-07-23 20:52:52.180 - Thread: 1 -> Microsoft Basic Render Driver - VendorID=5140, SubsystemID=0, DeviceID=140
    2017-07-23 20:52:52.885 - Thread: 1 -> Error: Exception in 'CreateAdaptersList()' for device 'NVIDIA GeForce GPU - VendorID=4318, SubsystemID=107614248, DeviceID=5010': Input string was not in a correct format.

    This section means it's scanning for Adapter names. It attempts to create the Adapter List for Device "NVIDIA GeForceGPU" and returns nothing as it's probably so that the list they've provided for SE's to detect is incomplete. The game there for simply does not recongnize the NVIDIA GeForceGPU entry and it's HIDs as a discreet card. Quite literally, SE thinks we don't have a GPU.
    See here:

    2017-07-22 22:04:19.971 - Thread: 1 -> VideoAdapter: 0

    Literally fails to ID the GPU. Doesn't think we have one. Period. This is odd considering other values will suggest that the game knows this is not the first startup and pulls the config file that says the render is a DX11 capable render.

    I tried deleting the CFG file as well as editing them and it did nothing.
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2017
  8. Rexisaurus Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    10
    This is the same error I originally had but it no longer shows up.

    I didn't verify with GPU-Z, I'll have to do that.
     
  9. Einharjar Junior Engineer

    Messages:
    519

    Hold you breath, I think I just fixed it. I got the game running again. Stay tuned and I will report soon. Promise.
     
  10. Rexisaurus Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    10
    [​IMG]
    --- Automerge ---
    Awesome!
    --- Automerge ---
    I may have to figure out what is causing this issue for me now though:

     
  11. Einharjar Junior Engineer

    Messages:
    519
    Ok so... this is a mixed bag.

    I was able to delete the Shader Folders, Shaders and Shader2. Shader is in the SpaceEngineers\Content folder, while Shader2 should be in the AppData\Roaming\SpaceEngineers folder. Delete both of them. THEN, go to Steam, right click SE, go to the BETA Tab and rollback the game to 1.81 Beta Opt In.

    It works, but basically this new 1.82 major update is a bust for us. We cannot use it until it's resolved.

    @Xocliw Just reporting that this bug is still a big issue. The game cannot ID the proper GPU using the ID Values (Vendor ID, Device ID, other IDs found in the Device BIOS / Driver)
    We tried changing the Name of the Driver, see OPs post just above this with the GPU-Z "Name Entry", that entry is influenced by the Driver Descriptor, still doesn't work. The game misidentifies the GPUs for any system using a custom integrated discreet GPU. This includes anyone using ANY Mobile graphics platform.
    On Steam I've seen people with GTX 960Ms on Surface Pros have the issue, I've seen multiples of myself using AlienWare Alphas (R1 series) using 860Ms with this issue, and I've seen Y50 Lenovo Gaming Laptops with older 760Ms and even 600 series Mobile GTX solutions all have this exact issue.
    This problem is there for probably wide spread.
    As an FYI, this particular error has shown up since the 2016 December update which saw the DX11 push and the 64bit only client. The fix back then was to simply delete the CFG file in the AppData SE folder. This no longer work. The issue is surrounding how the game now looks for the GPU performance settings at game start up. The GPU list is clearly incomplete.

    I'd suggest probably looking at the current NVidia driver list. That list includes the M series and even the GeForce GPU in the Alphas. Maybe that'll fix the GPU ID problem? Who knows.

    For know, I guess I'll stick with 1.81.
     
  12. Rexisaurus Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    10
    I was able to resolve my issue with it not showing my GPU in the list, was another issue that I had caused while trying to resolve this issue. Which is still broken. I'll stick with 1.81 until this is resolved. Thanks for your help!
    --- Automerge ---
    Honestly, with all the explosive bugs going on.. I really don't mind reverting to the last version. Game runs fantastic for me in multiplayer survival.
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2017
  13. Rexisaurus Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    10
    Current log file - same results after attempting to use the latest update:


    Is not an issue with 1.181 - reverting is playable but worlds can have issues if they are converted from the current version.
     
  14. NikolasMarch Junior Engineer

    Messages:
    927
    i cant believe this rubbish is still going on, glad im not having to use my laptop at this time, KEEN please either fix this A.S.A.P or disable it until it works, it is literally preventing your valued customers from playing the game!
     
  15. HurrayItsRaining Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    8
    I havn't been able to play for the last few updates either. I am using surface book with the GeForce GPU with DirectX 12 installed. I just rolled back to 1.81 and it works again. I didn't have to delete any folders.
     
  16. I23I7 ME Tester

    Messages:
    3,827
    Hey guys,

    I made a report email about this and linked this thread in it. I have reported as quite a major issue.

    Thank you for your reports and analysis.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Einharjar Junior Engineer

    Messages:
    519
    Just reporting in that as of this past patch, the issue persists for us mobile GPU users. Though, I did note that the patch notes did say they are working on some serious issues still, including memories leaks.
    Thank you for your response to my PM btw. Greatly appreciated. :)
     
  18. I23I7 ME Tester

    Messages:
    3,827
    So the issue is still persisting for you? Could you send me updated logs please?
     
  19. Einharjar Junior Engineer

    Messages:
    519
    Yes.

    the Log would be the exact same as earlier. CNPed from the above post (because it's literally the same and I'm at work right now...)

    2017-07-23 20:52:52.153 - Thread: 1 -> VRage renderer started
    2017-07-23 20:52:52.168 - Thread: 1 -> All detected adapters:
    2017-07-23 20:52:52.180 - Thread: 1 -> NVIDIA GeForce GPU - VendorID=4318, SubsystemID=107614248, DeviceID=5010
    2017-07-23 20:52:52.180 - Thread: 1 -> Microsoft Basic Render Driver - VendorID=5140, SubsystemID=0, DeviceID=140
    2017-07-23 20:52:52.885 - Thread: 1 -> Error: Exception in 'CreateAdaptersList()' for device 'NVIDIA GeForce GPU - VendorID=4318, SubsystemID=107614248, DeviceID=5010': Input string was not in a correct format.


    It appears the list that it's being extrapolated is still incomplete and the game is unable to identify the NVIDIA GeForce GPU name, it's Vendor ID, Subsystem ID and Device ID. Mind you, if you open the latest 3.0 series GeForce drivers in a .txt, scroll all the way down to view the adapter list string sets, you will find that exact same ID that matches my particular GPU. It's literally right about the the GTX 860M listing.
    --- Automerge ---
    Thanks to our time differences, I reloaded the game at the end of my work shift and had it try the new patch again, the new Hot Fix has fixed the issue!! WWEEEEEEEEEEEE! Screen Shots incoming in my thread. Thanks again for hearing us out.

    Game doesn't seem to load any faster for me, still seems to not utilize all 16 gigs of RAM for... whatever reason. BUT. It is pretty wicked playing on literally max GFX (max shadows, max shader, max texture, poly, model, hell even max Anti Aliasing) and look at my Star Destroyer and have about 30 to 50 FPS. That's impressive concerning my game is well over the block limit right (I have the block limits off). Nice work!!!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. I23I7 ME Tester

    Messages:
    3,827
    Hey thanks can i please have the full log file as well as the vrage log file. and the render log please.
     
  21. Rexisaurus Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    10
    As of the latest update mine appears to be working fine for me. Thanks for your help getting this fixed!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  22. I23I7 ME Tester

    Messages:
    3,827
    Thank you as well for the well made report.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Thread Status:
This last post in this thread was made more than 31 days old.