Welcome to Keen Software House Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the KSH community.
  1. You are currently browsing our forum as a guest. Create your own forum account to access all forum functionality.

DEV 162 Camera Ray Cast - What can be done with this?

Discussion in 'General' started by kcjunkbox, Nov 17, 2016.

Thread Status:
This last post in this thread was made more than 31 days old.
  1. kcjunkbox Senior Engineer

I'm not a programmer or a modder but this new feature peaked my interest because in my simple mind it seems that scripters can now create sensors with cameras. Is this correct? Space travel with out sensors is pretty stupid so this excites me. What type of things can be done with this new feature?

Edit: I'm asking people who actually know what they are talking about

• Agree Agree x 1
  2. Malware Master Engineer

Everything from simple range finders to crude radars...

Autolanders, obstacle avoidance...

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. gothosan Junior Engineer

If I get it right then:
    A) sensors now kinda work the same way? I rekon they should still have 50 meter range in vanilla..
    B) there should a way to get a list of detacted items right?

4. JoeTheDestroyer Junior Engineer

Wheeled vehicle landing control (align with ground so it lands nicely)
    Non-cheating homing missiles/drones (you will be able to lose them by ducking behind something)
    Long range communications without massive power requirements (maybe)

• Agree Agree x 1
  5. Ronin1973 Master Engineer

Well, for the gifted.. someone could make a cruise missile capable of flying close to the ground and avoiding terrain.

The homing missile is the most obvious with the range of sensor becoming smaller as the distance closes. This in turn will allow for faster returns and more frequent adjustments as the missile gets closer to the target.