Welcome to Keen Software House Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the KSH community.
  1. You are currently browsing our forum as a guest. Create your own forum account to access all forum functionality.

Having problems creating a new dedicated server.

Discussion in 'Groups & Dedicated Servers' started by jown7676, Dec 18, 2015.

Thread Status:
This last post in this thread was made more than 31 days old.
  1. jown7676 Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    41
    Ok So I decided to start a dedicated server on a VM so time will continue to pass rather than me having to wait for 3 hours for the sun to come up.

    Problem is I can't seem to get it to get past the start screen and into the config screen without problems.

    I can start SpaceEngineersDedicated.exe with no problem. But when I try to get into the server config, I get this:


    And this is the full message that it apparently can't send to an XML file.

    Code:
    See the end of this message for details on invoking 
    just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.
     
    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.InvalidOperationException: There was an error generating the XML document. ---> System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
       at VRage.ObjectBuilders.MyObjectBuilderType.ToString()
       at Microsoft.Xml.Serialization.GeneratedAssembly.XmlSerializationWriterMyConfigDedicatedData1.Write7_SerializableDefinitionId(String n, String ns, SerializableDefinitionId o, Boolean needType)
       at Microsoft.Xml.Serialization.GeneratedAssembly.XmlSerializationWriterMyConfigDedicatedData1.Write8_Item(String n, String ns, MyConfigDedicatedData`1 o, Boolean isNullable, Boolean needType)
       at Microsoft.Xml.Serialization.GeneratedAssembly.XmlSerializationWriterMyConfigDedicatedData1.Write9_MyConfigDedicated(Object o)
       --- End of inner exception stack trace ---
       at System.Xml.Serialization.XmlSerializer.Serialize(XmlWriter xmlWriter, Object o, XmlSerializerNamespaces namespaces, String encodingStyle, String id)
       at System.Xml.Serialization.XmlSerializer.Serialize(Stream stream, Object o, XmlSerializerNamespaces namespaces)
       at Sandbox.Engine.Utils.MyConfigDedicated`1.Save(String path)
       at VRage.Dedicated.ConfigForm`1.ConfigForm_Load(Object sender, EventArgs e)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Form.OnLoad(EventArgs e)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Form.OnCreateControl()
       at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl(Boolean fIgnoreVisible)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl()
       at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmShowWindow(Message& m)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
       at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)
     
     
    ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
    mscorlib
    	Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    	Win32 Version: 4.6.1055.0 built by: NETFXREL2
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework64/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    SpaceEngineersDedicated
    	Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    	Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/DedicatedServer/DedicatedServer64/SpaceEngineersDedicated.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    SpaceEngineers.Game
    	Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    	Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/DedicatedServer/DedicatedServer64/SpaceEngineers.Game.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    VRage.Dedicated
    	Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    	Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/DedicatedServer/DedicatedServer64/VRage.Dedicated.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    VRage.Game
    	Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    	Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/DedicatedServer/DedicatedServer64/VRage.Game.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    VRage
    	Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    	Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/DedicatedServer/DedicatedServer64/VRage.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    Sandbox.Game
    	Assembly Version: 0.1.5829.30843
    	Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/DedicatedServer/DedicatedServer64/Sandbox.Game.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    VRage.Math
    	Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    	Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/DedicatedServer/DedicatedServer64/VRage.Math.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    VRage.Library
    	Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    	Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/DedicatedServer/DedicatedServer64/VRage.Library.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    Sandbox.Graphics
    	Assembly Version: 0.1.5829.30841
    	Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/DedicatedServer/DedicatedServer64/Sandbox.Graphics.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    Sandbox.Common
    	Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    	Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/DedicatedServer/DedicatedServer64/Sandbox.Common.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
    	Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    	Win32 Version: 4.6.1055.0 built by: NETFXREL2
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
    	Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    	Win32 Version: 4.6.1055.0 built by: NETFXREL2
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
    	Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    	Win32 Version: 4.6.1055.0 built by: NETFXREL2
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Xml
    	Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    	Win32 Version: 4.6.1055.0 built by: NETFXREL2
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Configuration
    	Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    	Win32 Version: 4.6.1055.0 built by: NETFXREL2
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    VRage.Game.XmlSerializers
    	Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    	Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/DedicatedServer/DedicatedServer64/VRage.Game.XmlSerializers.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    System.ComponentModel.DataAnnotations
    	Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    	Win32 Version: 4.6.1055.0
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.ComponentModel.DataAnnotations/v4.0_4.0.0.0__31bf3856ad364e35/System.ComponentModel.DataAnnotations.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    Microsoft.GeneratedCode
    	Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    	Win32 Version: 4.6.1055.0 built by: NETFXREL2
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    SharpDX
    	Assembly Version: 2.6.3.0
    	Win32 Version: 2.6.3
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/DedicatedServer/DedicatedServer64/SharpDX.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    InfinarioSDK
    	Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    	Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/DedicatedServer/DedicatedServer64/InfinarioSDK.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Data.SQLite
    	Assembly Version: 1.0.98.0
    	Win32 Version: 1.0.98.0
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/DedicatedServer/DedicatedServer64/System.Data.SQLite.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Data
    	Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    	Win32 Version: 4.6.1055.0 built by: NETFXREL2
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_64/System.Data/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Data.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.ServiceProcess
    	Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    	Win32 Version: 4.6.1055.0 built by: NETFXREL2
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.ServiceProcess/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.ServiceProcess.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Transactions
    	Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    	Win32 Version: 4.6.1055.0 built by: NETFXREL2
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_64/System.Transactions/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Transactions.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Core
    	Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    	Win32 Version: 4.6.1055.0 built by: NETFXREL2
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    Accessibility
    	Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    	Win32 Version: 4.6.1055.0 built by: NETFXREL2
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Accessibility/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Accessibility.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    SteamSDK
    	Assembly Version: 0.0.0.0
    	Win32 Version: 
    	CodeBase: file:///C:/DedicatedServer/DedicatedServer64/SteamSDK.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
     
    ************** JIT Debugging **************
    To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
    application or computer (machine.config) must have the
    jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
    The application must also be compiled with debugging
    enabled.
     
    For example:
     
    <configuration>
    	<system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>
     
    When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
    will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
    rather than be handled by this dialog box.
    
    Now selecting "Continue" will take me to the setup screen but: 1- I can't setup the scenario, and 2- I look at the server config and I get this:

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0"?>
    <MyConfigDedicated xmlns:xsd="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
      <SessionSettings>
    	<GameMode>Creative</GameMode>
    	<InventorySizeMultiplier>10</InventorySizeMultiplier>
    	<AssemblerSpeedMultiplier>3</AssemblerSpeedMultiplier>
    	<AssemblerEfficiencyMultiplier>3</AssemblerEfficiencyMultiplier>
    	<RefinerySpeedMultiplier>3</RefinerySpeedMultiplier>
    	<OnlineMode>PRIVATE</OnlineMode>
    	<MaxPlayers>4</MaxPlayers>
    	<MaxFloatingObjects>56</MaxFloatingObjects>
    	<EnvironmentHostility>SAFE</EnvironmentHostility>
    	<AutoHealing>true</AutoHealing>
    	<EnableCopyPaste>true</EnableCopyPaste>
    	<WeaponsEnabled>true</WeaponsEnabled>
    	<ShowPlayerNamesOnHud>true</ShowPlayerNamesOnHud>
    	<ThrusterDamage>true</ThrusterDamage>
    	<CargoShipsEnabled>true</CargoShipsEnabled>
    	<EnableSpectator>false</EnableSpectator>
    	<RemoveTrash>true</RemoveTrash>
    	<WorldSizeKm>0</WorldSizeKm>
    	<RespawnShipDelete>true</RespawnShipDelete>
    	<ResetOwnership>false</ResetOwnership>
    	<WelderSpeedMultiplier>2</WelderSpeedMultiplier>
    	<GrinderSpeedMultiplier>2</GrinderSpeedMultiplier>
    	<RealisticSound>false</RealisticSound>
    	<HackSpeedMultiplier>0.33</HackSpeedMultiplier>
    	<PermanentDeath>false</PermanentDeath>
    	<AutoSaveInMinutes>5</AutoSaveInMinutes>
    	<SpawnShipTimeMultiplier>0.5</SpawnShipTimeMultiplier>
    	<DestructibleBlocks>true</DestructibleBlocks>
    	<EnableIngameScripts>true</EnableIngameScripts>
    	<ViewDistance>15000</ViewDistance>
    	<FloraDensity>20</FloraDensity>
    	<VoxelGeneratorVersion>0</VoxelGeneratorVersion>
    	<EnableOxygen>false</EnableOxygen>
    	<Enable3rdPersonView>true</Enable3rdPersonView>
    	<EnableEncounters>true</EnableEncounters>
    	<EnableFlora>false</EnableFlora>
    	<EnableStationVoxelSupport>true</EnableStationVoxelSupport>
    	<EnableSunRotation>false</EnableSunRotation>
    	<DisableRespawnShips>false</DisableRespawnShips>
    	<Sc
    
    Please notice that the XML file suddenly stops at the <Sc part. I have installed Steam and installed SE from Steam to try to make sure that all the files are loaded correctly. I also attempted to start a dedicated server on my main system with a fulled upgraded and running copy of the game and I still have the same issues.

    The VM is set with basic settings as I thought that's all it needed.
    1 processer
    4 gig ram
    networking
    basic video

    My main computer is set with much more powerful parts.
    I7 quad core at 3.8 GHz
    32 Gigs ram
    Asus Ati 7950 Graphics card

    So I don't understand why I can't even start a dedicated server on my main computer much less on the VM.

    Anyone have any ideas as to what I'm doing wrong?

    Thanks.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. AceSpade Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    30
    I am also having this exact same issue. I have tried everything that I could find to try on the net which was a great deal of things. Nothing has worked. Please help
     
  3. rexxar Senior Engineer

    Messages:
    1,530
  4. Jaken Veina Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    134
    And if it is?

    Exact same error here. I have run every .NET Installer, Updater, and Repair Tool I could find. The error has not changed at all.
     
  5. MrDoctorDIV Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    130
    Diddo Jaken. Played with every aspect of .NET framework and it made zero difference. Only thing I haven't tried is completely reinstalling windows [which won't do for me right now].
     
  6. rexxar Senior Engineer

    Messages:
    1,530
    Huh, I'm getting this problem with the vanilla server now, I didn't before. I guess this is a new bug introduced with the last update. I don't know why it's choking when creating the config file the first time, but if you paste a working one in the directory it will work.

    Here's the config file for one of my development servers, if you don't have a working .cfg, just overwrite your broken one with this. Be sure to change all the settings, though.

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0"?>
    <MyConfigDedicated xmlns:xsd="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
    <SessionSettings>
    <GameMode>Creative</GameMode>
    <InventorySizeMultiplier>10</InventorySizeMultiplier>
    <AssemblerSpeedMultiplier>3</AssemblerSpeedMultiplier>
    <AssemblerEfficiencyMultiplier>3</AssemblerEfficiencyMultiplier>
    <RefinerySpeedMultiplier>3</RefinerySpeedMultiplier>
    <OnlineMode>PUBLIC</OnlineMode>
    <MaxPlayers>4</MaxPlayers>
    <MaxFloatingObjects>56</MaxFloatingObjects>
    <EnvironmentHostility>SAFE</EnvironmentHostility>
    <AutoHealing>true</AutoHealing>
    <EnableCopyPaste>true</EnableCopyPaste>
    <WeaponsEnabled>true</WeaponsEnabled>
    <ShowPlayerNamesOnHud>true</ShowPlayerNamesOnHud>
    <ThrusterDamage>true</ThrusterDamage>
    <CargoShipsEnabled>false</CargoShipsEnabled>
    <EnableSpectator>true</EnableSpectator>
    <RemoveTrash>true</RemoveTrash>
    <WorldSizeKm>0</WorldSizeKm>
    <RespawnShipDelete>true</RespawnShipDelete>
    <ResetOwnership>false</ResetOwnership>
    <WelderSpeedMultiplier>5</WelderSpeedMultiplier>
    <GrinderSpeedMultiplier>5</GrinderSpeedMultiplier>
    <RealisticSound>false</RealisticSound>
    <HackSpeedMultiplier>0.33</HackSpeedMultiplier>
    <PermanentDeath>false</PermanentDeath>
    <AutoSaveInMinutes>0</AutoSaveInMinutes>
    <SpawnShipTimeMultiplier>0.5</SpawnShipTimeMultiplier>
    <DestructibleBlocks>true</DestructibleBlocks>
    <EnableIngameScripts>true</EnableIngameScripts>
    <ViewDistance>15000</ViewDistance>
    <FloraDensity>20</FloraDensity>
    <EnableToolShake>true</EnableToolShake>
    <VoxelGeneratorVersion>2</VoxelGeneratorVersion>
    <EnableOxygen>true</EnableOxygen>
    <Enable3rdPersonView>true</Enable3rdPersonView>
    <EnableEncounters>true</EnableEncounters>
    <EnableFlora>true</EnableFlora>
    <EnableStationVoxelSupport>true</EnableStationVoxelSupport>
    <EnableSunRotation>true</EnableSunRotation>
    <DisableRespawnShips>false</DisableRespawnShips>
    <ScenarioEditMode>false</ScenarioEditMode>
    <Battle>false</Battle>
    <Scenario>false</Scenario>
    <CanJoinRunning>false</CanJoinRunning>
    <PhysicsIterations>4</PhysicsIterations>
    <SunRotationIntervalMinutes>120</SunRotationIntervalMinutes>
    <EnableJetpack>true</EnableJetpack>
    <SpawnWithTools>true</SpawnWithTools>
    <StartInRespawnScreen>false</StartInRespawnScreen>
    <EnableVoxelDestruction>true</EnableVoxelDestruction>
    <MaxDrones>5</MaxDrones>
    <EnableDrones>true</EnableDrones>
    </SessionSettings>
    <Scenario>
    <TypeId>MyObjectBuilder_ScenarioDefinition</TypeId>
    <SubtypeId>EmptyWorld</SubtypeId>
    </Scenario>
    <LoadWorld>C:\ProgramData\SpaceEngineersDedicated\SESEDevTest\Saves\SESEDevWorld520756878</LoadWorld>
    <IP>0.0.0.0</IP>
    <SteamPort>8766</SteamPort>
    <ServerPort>27019</ServerPort>
    <AsteroidAmount>0</AsteroidAmount>
    <Administrators>
    </Administrators>
    <Banned />
    <Mods>
    </Mods>
    <GroupID>103582791440445404</GroupID>
    <ServerName>SESEDevTest</ServerName>
    <WorldName>SESEDevWorld</WorldName>
    <PauseGameWhenEmpty>false</PauseGameWhenEmpty>
    <IgnoreLastSession>false</IgnoreLastSession>
    </MyConfigDedicated>
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. MrDoctorDIV Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    130
    I was just about to say I found what rexxar did, the xml ending in <sc tipped me off so I Googled a working cfg file, pasted it in, and bada bing bada boom, no more errors, server booted right up [with no world since I hadn't set it of course].
     
  8. rexxar Senior Engineer

    Messages:
    1,530
    Okay, this is a .Net problem. Microsoft updated .Net the other day and it seems to have broken something. Not much we can do about it, unfortunately. Just hope the DedicatedServer UI doesn't crash, because I've been having another .Net program crash.

    Thanks, Microsoft.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Jaken Veina Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    134
    I suppose it should be possible to just roll back the .NET update.
     
  10. jown7676 Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    41
    That config seems to work. After copying it into the broken config I am able to modify it with no problems through the UI. I'll be loading it soon to verify that it loads correctly.

    Thanks.
     
  11. AceSpade Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    30
    thanks for that Rexxar, got a bit further this time. Problem im having now even after mutliple downloads/installation in different sources I cant get the updated server files to 1113011, while my server files are stuck on 1113009. Even after verifying game cache and extracting DedicatedServer.zip its still the incorrect version and I've tried this on two different machines and two different install methods so 4 clean attempts. Also tried SteamCmd
     
  12. rexxar Senior Engineer

    Messages:
    1,530
    Sometimes the dedicatedserver.zip doesn't get updated. Have you tried simply copying the files from the DedicatedServer64 directory?
     
  13. AceSpade Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    30
    Yes ive copied those files and pasted into a different folder than I use for the server. Ive tried two different machines, installing/validating with Steam on the PC, copy/paste the zip file and also tried the directory folder DedicatedServer64. Ive also tried SteamCMD installation/validation and same story. Not sure whats wrong here
     
  14. rexxar Senior Engineer

    Messages:
    1,530
    Have you tried running the server directly from the dedicatedserver64 directory? It's not really recommended, but I've not had any trouble doing it.
     
  15. jown7676 Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    41
    Ok, here is what I've been able to determine thus far.

    Using the config file provided by Rexxar, I was able to get the UI to load up and I could make changes and save them with no problems, there is a definte problem with the UI when it comes to creating the config file for the first time. Afterwards, it doesn't seem to have a problem. I also had to change the port number due to a conflict with another game. The server is on a Virtual Machine with an IP of .76 with my main machine having an IP of .75. I have opened the port to the VM and I can start the server with no problems, it loads the mods I want and it starts a session.

    After waiting in the SE client for about 10 mins, my server did not show up at all in the public server list. I changed to the LAN list and waited another 10 mins with no results. I can ping the VM from my main and also ping my main from the VM as well as ping the steam servers.

    So, here is what I am thinking. As I take it from reading all over google, the dedicated server still needs to talk to the steam servers to allow players in. Trying to start a private LAN game without steam is currently not available, as far as I can tell.

    In case others are wondering, I want to start a private server so time flows in game even while I'm not logged in. I only want myself to have access for now and I would prefer to not list my server on steam as I do not have a static IP. So I am attempting to start a session on a virtual machine so only I have access.

    If anyone has any ideas to knows something that I don't, please don't hesitate to post something. And if a dev sees this, a little help would be greatly appreciative.
     
  16. rexxar Senior Engineer

    Messages:
    1,530
    You do need steam, but you can set your server to private. I'm not sure who is allowed in, maybe those listed as admin?

    At any rate, networking with a VM can be tricky. This is a bit beyond my expertise, but AFAIK you need to turn off NAT and give the VM its own IP on your local network. Then you can set your router to forward the SE and steam ports to the VM. If your router allows it, you should set a static IP for your server. How you do that all depends on what VM software and router you're using.
     
  17. jown7676 Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    41
    I was able to setup the VM with a bridged connection that allowed it to act as if it was directly connected to my router. The one point that I wonder about is the ports for steam. I read somewhere that the ports are in the 27000 range and right now I have those ports mapped to my main system due to another game. Here is what I found with a quick search.

    https://support.steampowered.com/kb_article.php?ref=8571-GLVN-8711
    Code:
    Your network must be configured to allow Steam access to the following ports (in order from highest to lowest priority for QoS users):
    Steam Client
     
    	UDP 27000 to 27015 inclusive (Game client traffic)
    	UDP 27015 to 27030 inclusive (Typically Matchmaking and HLTV)
    	TCP 27014 to 27050 inclusive (Steam downloads)
    	UDP 27031 and 27036 (incoming, for In-Home Streaming)
    	TCP 27036 and 27037 (incoming, for In-Home Streaming)
    	UDP 4380
     
     
    Dedicated or Listen Servers
     
    	TCP 27015 (SRCDS Rcon port)
     
     
    Steamworks P2P Networking and Steam Voice Chat
     
    	UDP 3478 (Outbound)
    	UDP 4379 (Outbound)
    	UDP 4380 (Outbound)
    
    So I wonder if I need to setup ports for those as well. But if I do I will have to shut off the port mapping for my other game as well. Gah! What to do?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  18. rexxar Senior Engineer

    Messages:
    1,530
    Default SE server port is 27016, steam is 8766
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  19. jown7676 Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    41
    Agreed, but I changed the port so it would not conflict with the other ports. As for the steam port, I don't see anything in the official database for 8766. I'll look into it.
     
  20. jown7676 Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    41
    Welp, I added the ports and checked them three times and still no go. I don't know what the hang up could be.
     
  21. jown7676 Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    41
    Here's an update for those that want to know. After fighting with the VM for what seems like days. I moved the server files to my main computer and off the VM. And wouldn't you just know it, my server pops up just fine. Played on it some too. So here is what I figured out:

    1. You do need to open the ports in your router firewall. I had made the mistake of using port forwarding and not port triggering. Lesson learned.

    2. For some reason, VM servers don't work if you are trying to play on the same LAN. Donno why considering that I had the VM set up on bridged networking and should have been easy to connect to.

    3. The server software is kinda finicky at this point as it crashed on me once and I seem to have a problem with jittery movement in one direction. It's like the server is constantly changing the location of my avatar as well as any ships that are using landing gear to stay in place. The ships move back because of the landing gear but I worry that it might cause problems later.

    Conclusion: It seems that the server software needs to not be on a VM in order to connect to it with a computer on the LAN. I haven't testing letting others connect as of yet and because I don't have a static IP (cable) I'm hesitant to do so. I hope that the dedicated server code is looked at soon as I see many looking into the multiplayer aspect of the game.

    -----------

    TL : DR
    Check ports on router/firewall. Don't use VM for servers on your LAN. Software is still buggy.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  22. LordzOfWar Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    5

    What do i need to set my port foward to. I am getting game in LAN on both computers in network but can not find server in game listings
     
  23. LordzOfWar Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    5
    What do i need to set my port foward to ( port #). I am getting game in LAN on both computers in network but can not find server in game listings
     
  24. jown7676 Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    41
    Ports are listed above and I have found that the game listing likes to take it's sweet time to load. I guess it uses Steam to list the games and Steam is a bit slow on this end. And if you are getting your host on the LAN tab, I'd like to know how. I couldn't get that no matter what I tried. Remember that even though you game is on your LAN, it still has to talk to the Steam servers to advertise the instance. However your ping for the LAN instance should be zero.

    Also once you have logged into the instance once, there should be an entry on your history tab to allow for quick access to your instance. This may or may not be there as it still has to get an update from the Steam services. I had the most luck when I waited on the Servers tab for a couple of minutes then switched over to the history tab.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  25. LordzOfWar Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    5
    Jown7676 thanks. Not sure how it showed up in lan. I will look into it more tomorrow. What are the best admin tools to use. I tried to install sese but had and error. Might not have been using rigjt version. New to this.... it was an error telling me to go to a registry file and change allowances. ? Not sure was pretty frustrated by that point. I also had the same problem with broken code and earlier posts showed. So i copied rexxars code then made necessary changes.
     
  26. rexxar Senior Engineer

    Messages:
    1,530
    In my opinion, SESE is the best. I swear I'm not biased...

    SESE currently is broken; Keen did something in this week's update and I haven't figured out how to fix it yet.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  27. LordzOfWar Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    5
    Awsome. Thanks rexxar and jown. Server is up and running. Admin tool broken that never happens :) thanks. I needed my port foward to match the port setting in my SE dedicated program. Stupid mistake. Awsome guys thanks
     
  28. LordzOfWar Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    5
    What thread should i watch for when you fix it to be notified and also figure out how to set it up. Also what plugins should i use. Thanks
     
Thread Status:
This last post in this thread was made more than 31 days old.