Welcome to Keen Software House Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the KSH community.
  1. You are currently browsing our forum as a guest. Create your own forum account to access all forum functionality.

Render Issue with SpaceEngineers 01_168_006 64-Bit

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by Aebian, Dec 30, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
This last post in this thread was made more than 31 days old.
  1. Aebian Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    22
    Hi KSH,

    Whenever I try to open or create a empty world I get a render issue.
    I tried to re-install my GPU driver, tried to switch to the dev-branch and also removed any occurence of SpaceEngineers from my drives (also in AppData) and re-installed it. My build is: 2016-12-30 04:44

    My SpaceEngineers.log && event viewer log:
    --> gist.github.com/Aebian/3f877bade767e1aee33c55c3aa04ff39

    There is no .net runtime error occured. Only information I got is the "Application Hang" error.
    Hope you can help me.

    Thanks,

    A/
    --- Automerge ---
    Fixed my issue. It was related to the GPU setting. I had to change it from NVIDIA GTX770 + //Display 13 to NVIDIA GTX770 + //Display12


    Edit 2:// Issue still present: 2016-12-30 19:02:51.427 - Thread: 5 -> Exception occured: System.AccessViolationException: Attempted to read or write protected memory. This is often an indication that other memory is corrupt.
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2016
  2. CptTwinkie Master Engineer

    Messages:
    4,458
    Do you really have 13 displays? 0 or 1 is the usual option. Moving to troubleshooting
     
  3. Aebian Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    22
    @CptTwinkie Negative I have only 2. But for some reason SE displays them wrong.
    I tested with an older driver 373.06 then SE displayed my two monitors as 34 && 35 but facing the same issue. I also tried an old scissor build without any luck. Display 34 is my main monitor.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    --- Automerge ---
    I have now driver version 334.89 and removed old drivers & Co. via the Device Manager.
    SE now shows my displays correctly:

    [​IMG]

    However I still get the error from above:

    Code:
    2016-12-31 15:12:58.702 - Thread:  1 ->  MyGuiScreenBase.UnloadContent - START
    2016-12-31 15:12:58.704 - Thread:  1 ->  MyGuiScreenBase.UnloadContent - END
    2016-12-31 15:12:59.764 - Thread:  6 ->  Exception occured: System.AccessViolationException: Attempted to read or write protected memory. This is often an indication that other memory is corrupt.
      at SharpDX.Direct3D11.DeviceContext.DrawIndexed(Int32 indexCount, Int32 startIndexLocation, Int32 baseVertexLocation)
      at VRage.Render11.RenderContext.MyRenderContext.DrawIndexed(Int32 indexCount, Int32 startIndexLocation, Int32 baseVertexLocation)
      at VRageRender.MyDepthPass.RecordCommandsInternal(MyRenderableProxy proxy)
      at VRageRender.MyRenderingWorkRecordCommands.DoWork(WorkData workData)
      at ParallelTasks.WorkItem.DoWork(Int32 expectedID)
      at ParallelTasks.PrioritizedScheduler.Worker.WorkerLoop(Object o)
      at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.RunInternal(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean preserveSyncCtx)
      at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean preserveSyncCtx)
      at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state)
      at System.Threading.ThreadHelper.ThreadStart(Object obj)
    --- Automerge ---
    I also tried with selecting my second GPU GTX 550ti but I also get a freeze after I try to go back to the MainMenu.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2017
  4. CptTwinkie Master Engineer

    Messages:
    4,458
    Can you share full SpaceEngineers.log and VRageRender-DirectX11.log please?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Aebian Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    22
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 3, 2017
  6. CptTwinkie Master Engineer

    Messages:
    4,458
    VRageRender.MyVideoPlayer <--

    That line tells me that you are crashing when trying to load the background video for the main menu. It's the constructor that's crashing so it's possible that it's not a problem with the videos (although that was my first thought for a problem).

    You can try deleting (or moving so you don't have to redownload) your videos from the default location at C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\SpaceEngineers\Content\Videos

    If it starts up without them then the problem is the videos. If it still crashes then it is very strange and may indicate some kind of file problems with the game or your video drivers.
     
  7. Aebian Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    22
    Well first of I renamed the folder to something special, no intro videos at the main menu, worked also? But I just gonna re-download the game again since I loaded a clean map without mods and just 8 heavy armor blocks placed and therefore connected together as a wall and my game freezed again instantly after finishing the loading.

    Code:
    2017-01-03 13:50:33.642 - Thread:  1 ->  MySession.Static.LogSettings - END
    2017-01-03 13:50:33.666 - Thread:  1 ->  Session loaded
    2017-01-03 13:50:33.666 - Thread:  1 ->  RunLoadingAction - END
    2017-01-03 13:50:33.667 - Thread:  1 ->  MyGuiScreenGamePlay.LoadData - START
    2017-01-03 13:50:33.712 - Thread:  1 ->  MyGuiScreenGamePlay.LoadData - END
    2017-01-03 13:50:33.712 - Thread:  1 ->  MyGuiScreenGamePlay.LoadContent - START
    2017-01-03 13:50:33.714 - Thread:  1 ->  MyGuiScreenGamePlay.LoadContent - END
    2017-01-03 13:50:33.722 - Thread:  1 ->  Updating continues.
    2017-01-03 13:50:33.936 - Thread:  1 ->  GC Memory: 1,085,182,600 B
    2017-01-03 13:50:42.352 - Thread:  1 ->  MyGuiScreenBase.UnloadContent - START
    2017-01-03 13:50:42.353 - Thread:  1 ->  MyGuiScreenBase.UnloadContent - END
    2017-01-03 13:50:46.932 - Thread:  6 ->  Exception occured: System.AccessViolationException: Attempted to read or write protected memory. This is often an indication that other memory is corrupt.
      at SharpDX.Direct3D11.DeviceContext.DrawIndexedInstanced(Int32 indexCountPerInstance, Int32 instanceCount, Int32 startIndexLocation, Int32 baseVertexLocation, Int32 startInstanceLocation)
      at VRage.Render11.RenderContext.MyRenderContext.DrawIndexedInstanced(Int32 indexCountPerInstance, Int32 instanceCount, Int32 startIndexLocation, Int32 baseVertexLocation, Int32 startInstanceLocation)
      at VRageRender.MyDepthPass.RecordCommandsInternal(MyRenderableProxy proxy)
      at VRageRender.MyRenderingWorkRecordCommands.DoWork(WorkData workData)
      at ParallelTasks.WorkItem.DoWork(Int32 expectedID)
      at ParallelTasks.PrioritizedScheduler.Worker.WorkerLoop(Object o)
      at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.RunInternal(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean preserveSyncCtx)
      at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean preserveSyncCtx)
      at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state)
      at System.Threading.ThreadHelper.ThreadStart(Object obj)
    --- Automerge ---
    Okay, I re-downloaded the game and was loading again a complete empty map wiith no mods. Now its even freezing. in the loading screen

    Code:
    2017-01-03 15:28:27.062 - Thread:  1 ->        MaxActiveFracturePieces = 50
    2017-01-03 15:28:27.062 - Thread:  1 ->  MySession.Static.LogSettings - END
    2017-01-03 15:28:27.085 - Thread:  1 ->  Session loaded
    2017-01-03 15:28:27.085 - Thread:  1 ->  RunLoadingAction - END
    2017-01-03 15:28:27.085 - Thread:  1 ->  MyGuiScreenGamePlay.LoadData - START
    2017-01-03 15:28:27.123 - Thread:  1 ->  MyGuiScreenGamePlay.LoadData - END
    2017-01-03 15:28:27.123 - Thread:  1 ->  MyGuiScreenGamePlay.LoadContent - START
    2017-01-03 15:28:27.125 - Thread:  1 ->  MyGuiScreenGamePlay.LoadContent - END
    2017-01-03 15:28:27.132 - Thread:  1 ->  Updating continues.
    2017-01-03 15:28:27.436 - Thread:  1 ->  GC Memory: 1,096,120,976 B
    2017-01-03 15:28:32.596 - Thread:  6 ->  Exception occured: System.AccessViolationException: Attempted to read or write protected memory. This is often an indication that other memory is corrupt.
      at SharpDX.Direct3D11.DeviceContext.DrawIndexed(Int32 indexCount, Int32 startIndexLocation, Int32 baseVertexLocation)
      at VRage.Render11.RenderContext.MyRenderContext.DrawIndexed(Int32 indexCount, Int32 startIndexLocation, Int32 baseVertexLocation)
      at VRageRender.MyDepthPass.RecordCommandsInternal(MyRenderableProxy proxy)
      at VRageRender.MyRenderingWorkRecordCommands.DoWork(WorkData workData)
      at ParallelTasks.WorkItem.DoWork(Int32 expectedID)
      at ParallelTasks.PrioritizedScheduler.Worker.WorkerLoop(Object o)
      at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.RunInternal(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean preserveSyncCtx)
      at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean preserveSyncCtx)
      at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state)
      at System.Threading.ThreadHelper.ThreadStart(Object obj)
    The VRage Log below states again that the video of the main menu is an error. It wasn't loading but I was able to load the game and jumping around in the main menu. The freeze occured after the main menu and in the loading screen where only images and quotes are displayed so I don't think that the videos are doiing that much.

    Code:
    2017-01-03 15:25:28.781 - Thread:  11 ->        MyFont.Ctor - END
    2017-01-03 15:25:31.302 - Thread:  11 ->        Exception occured: System.AccessViolationException: Attempted to read or write protected memory. This is often an indication that other memory is corrupt.
      at DShowNET.IGraphBuilder.RenderFile(String lpcwstrFile, String lpcwstrPlayList)
      at DShowNET.VideoPlayer..ctor(String FileName)
      at VRageRender.MyVideoPlayer..ctor(String filename)
      at VRageRender.MyVideoFactory.Create(UInt32 id, String videoFile)
     
  8. Aebian Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    22
    Thats my SpaceEngineers.exe Debug.log btw: gist.github.com/Aebian/4b9f67287e26d3499286589083a6ce8c

    Edit: Even the current Dev Version didn't fix the issue.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2017
  9. Zeimunster Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    9
    I have the same issue. Started today (Haven't played in more than a week so can't pinpoint)

    I'm doing a clean install now to check if it doesn't resolve it.
     
  10. Aebian Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    22
    I'm still unable to play the game. Tried to install the latest beta driver from nvidias page (376.33 from Dec 14th 2016) but that didn't really worked. I also deleted SpaceEngineers again and changed the download server of Steam to check if that would be the problem.
    I try to load a empty map (or generate one) and after loading my game freezes almost instantly.

    Also I noticed that I don't have background videos in the main menu although they are in correct folder:
    [​IMG]

    So steps I did so far:

    1) removed game and re-downloaded it (6 times by now)
    2.) tried game on HDD and SSD
    3.) tried different game drivers including BETA
    4.) changed download server from steam
    5.) Debugged SpaceEngineers.exe with VS 2015 Enterprise\

    I'm almost out of Ideas what I can do. My friend is currently sending me his current SE folder to check if there is an issue but i'm not sure if that will work.

    Thanks,

    A/
    --- Automerge ---
    So negative even the SE copy of my friend wasn't working. I can move around in an empty world but as soon as I place any kind of block my game just freezes.

    My current log as of 01/07/2016: gist.github.com/Aebian/04e98a65f4b4c6af54dfe50c47ada6c2
    --- Automerge ---
    @Moderators:

    I re-installed my OS (Windows 10 Pro) and the issue seems to be gone. Thread could be closed if needed.
     
  11. CptTwinkie Master Engineer

    Messages:
    4,458
    :( It really unfortunate when this happens. Windows is a complicated beast and there are some issues that we're just not in a position to figure out. We've reached the bottom of our troubleshooting toolbox many times and this usually means that only a repair or reinstall of windows will restore your happy gaming experience. We consider it something of a nuclear option though and we almost never recommend it. Sorry your issues couldn't be solved in a civilized way.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
This last post in this thread was made more than 31 days old.