Welcome to Keen Software House Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the KSH community.
  1. You are currently browsing our forum as a guest. Create your own forum account to access all forum functionality.

Ways to make a planet/gravity compatible mining drone?

Discussion in 'Gameplay Help' started by redxlaser15, Mar 9, 2019.

1. redxlaser15 Trainee Engineer

I'm a rookie, and really don't know much of how to play at all in general. I've made a successfully flying ship on a planet, but it always seems to spontaneously explode almost instantly when I start mining.
    What are some good ways to do this?

2. vadersson Trainee Engineer

Explodes? That would be unusual. I would be aware that as you mine material it makes your ship heavier quickly. If you don't have extra thrusters you can quickly crash.

3. Malware Master Engineer

For a rookie I would recommend creating a vertically oriented ship with plenty of lifting power - designed to drill directly down. That way there's less chance of getting disoriented and if your ship gets too heavy, it'll more likely just rest on the ground than fall and break.

4. Calaban Junior Engineer

Without a (greatly entertaining) vidcap of aforementioned disaster, We have very little information/details to work with in regards to explaining what is going wrong there.

My guess is that the flying ship has enough thrust to hover while empty, but the moment a few metric tons of ore get gobbled up, it will then commence to fly- very much in the way that a brick doesn't.

• Funny Funny x 1
  5. redxlaser15 Trainee Engineer

-Well, I'm kinda exaggerating on the explosion thing. It does explode, but it's not like the whole thing goes.
    -Ah, figures that weight would increase! That's at least part of the problem. Gonna need more thrusters then.
    -I purposefully tried making a ship with the purpose of drilling straight down. It seemed like a much better idea than trying to move around a lot. It still exploded though.